WIP Wednesday: Movember Socks

My present to Dad for the holidays this year will be his very own pair of hand knit socks in his favorite color (red). I’ve been putting off making his socks because for one thing, my feet aren’t that big so by the time the sock foot and toe measures 7.5″ it’s time for me to do the heel. Men generally have larger feet.

But the main reason I’ve put them off until now has been the pattern. I don’t do well when there isn’t a pattern I can repeat but so many times to get the length I need/want. I can do stockinette socks a little easier than I can do ribbed socks. Ribbing kills me from boredom. But I knew I needed to do Dad’s socks this year because I had promised.

The pattern I found is called Movember, a play on words with “Mock” and “November”. It’s a man sock mystery pattern. That is, I was given part of the pattern each week in November. Because it was designed to be a man sock, I was pretty sure it would work well for Dad and looking at the finished socks, I was right.

Once Dad’s are done, I have a break time before I have to knit any more man socks. My brother wants socks but before anything else, he wants a full set using bamboo – hat/scarf/gloves/socks.

Leave a Reply

